The following blog post was written by Maggy Stewart, Graphic Designer & Marketing Coordinator at RMS.

PCMH 2017
This past March, the National Committee for Quality Assurance (NCQA) launched the redesigned Patient-Centered Medical Home (PCMH) Recognition program, which includes an ongoing, sustained recognition status with an annual check-in and reporting. Redesigned program features replaced the previous program’s three-year recognition cycle, and focuses on a new outlined approach.

What to expect.

  • Flexibility. Practices take the path to recognition that suits their strengths, schedule and goals.
  • Personalized service. Practices get more interaction with NCQA. Each practice is assigned a Relationship Manager who will serve as the primary NCQA contact and “go-to” guide.
  • User-friendly approach. Reporting requirements remain meaningful, but with simplified reporting and less paperwork.
  • Continuous improvement. Annual check-ins help practices strengthen as medical homes by reviewing progress and encouraging performance improvement.
  • Alignment with changes in healthcare. The program aligns with current public and private initiatives and can adapt to future changes.

How it works. 
The new recognition process consists of three main steps:

  1. Commit. A practice completes a self-assessment prior to committing to the transformation and recognition process. When the practice commits, it works with the assigned NCQA representative to conduct an online assessment and develop an evaluation plan and schedule.
  2. Transform. As practices gradually build on their successes, progress will be tracked through virtual reviews and documentation and data submissions to NCQA’s new system.
  3. Succeed. Following the practice earning its recognition, annual check-ins with their Relationship Manager will ensure policies, procedures and submissions are adequately met and that the practice is continuing to implement and enhance their PCMH model.

Additional improvements. 
On March 31, NCQA launched a new online platform which enabled practices to apply for recognition, sign agreements, access training and other resources, submit documentation, update and confirm data, print certificates and sustain their recognition.

Now what? 
If you’re a Level 3 2014 recognized practice, you have the ability to streamline your entrance into the Sustain process step when your current recognition expires. If you’re a Level 1 or 2 2014 recognized practice, you have two options: you can request an Add-On Survey through June 30th, 2017, or transform through the redesigned program under the PCMH 2017.

Improving for a purpose.
The redesigned PCMH 2017 Program is established to mutually benefit patients and providers while improving outcomes. Organizations that achieve PCMH Recognition establish a foundation to succeed as Accountable Care Organizations (ACOs) and Clinically Integrated Networks (CINs), and qualify for financial incentives, as well as prepare their organization for the MACRA Quality Payment Program (QPP).

Key dates to keep in mind. 
June 30, 2017—Last day to request a PCMH 2011 Site of 2015 Add-On Survey Tool

July 31, 2017—Last day to submit a PCMH 2015 Corporate Add-On Survey Tool

September 30, 2017—Last day to submit a PCMH 2011 Site Add-On Survey Tool, PCMH 2014 Site Add-On Survey Tool, or any PCMH 2014 Single Site or Multi-Site Survey Tool

RMS Healthcare, a division of Research and Marketing Strategies, Inc. (RMS) provides operational support, consulting and research services, tailoring their expertise to optimize your organization’s performance. A leading healthcare consulting firm with proven experience and success in practice transformation and patient experience reporting, the RMS Practice Transformation team handles the coordination of quality initiatives to assist clients achieving Patient-Centered Medical Home Recognition. To learn more about our healthcare services, contact Christine Benn, Business Development Coordinator at or call 866-567-5422.